Cancer Companions: Bringing Hope to the Journey

Seeing God in Your Cancer Journey

September 13 – November 8, 2020

4:30 – 6:00 pm on Zoom

This ministry through White Memorial Presbyterian Church in Raleigh is designed for those with a current diagnosis or post treatment and caregivers no matter where they are. Weekly classes meet on Zoom Sunday evenings beginning Sept. 13, for an hour and a half session. The class will use Cancer Companions devotionals, videos and Bible Lessons to explore how we can draw closer to God as we go through difficult times.

The Cancer Companion ministry is designed for three different groups of people:

• Those with a current diagnosis
• Those post treatment – may be 1 week or 10 +years out
• Caregivers and loved ones. . .even if you are far away.

There are three ways our ministry is active at WMPC to help:

• Serve as a Prayer Partner with weekly contact
• Weekly classes led by Cancer Companion Volunteers
• One to One care for those who do not find a group setting appealing or are too sick to be a part of a group.

Here’s a look at our weekly topics:

  • September 13 – Introduction October 11 – Prayer
  • September 20 – Faith October 18 – Stress Reduction
  • September 27 – Questions October 25 – Relationships
  • October 4 – Healing November 1 – Communication
  • November 8 – Healthy Living

Cancer Companion Ministry Team at WMPC

August 2020
Jean Williams, Parish Nurse, jwilliams@whitememorial.org
Jim Ferris, Parish Associate, jferry@whitememorial.org
Amanda Kidd – CC ministry leader, awkidd1961@gmail.com
Theresa Jeffers – theresawj@aol.com
Mary Clayton – marymclayton@gmail.com
Mary Ann Poole – mapoole@me.com
Karen Hoover – Karen5324@gmail.com
Butch Gunnels – gunnerllsd@gmail.com
Gail Gunnells – ggunnells@gmail.com

Questions?

Contact Jean or Jim:

Jean Williams
Parish Nurse
(919) 834-3425 (x 234)
jwilliams@whitememorial.org

Jim Ferry
(919) 834-3425 (x 208)
jferry@whitememorial.org

 

Cancer Companions Information Sheet (PDF) » Cancer Companions Participant Guide (PDF) »
error: Content is protected
X